Flying across borders

This is it!

I’m about to board a plane that will take me from one side of Australia to the other, and all in the name of ‘editing’.

In recent years I have become passionate about my profession, and I tend to jump at any opportunity to learn more about the intricacies of editing in the hope that it will make me a better one. To be able to attend the 2013 Institute of Professional Editors (IPEd) national conference ‘Editing across borders’ is something I have been looking forward to for many months.

One of the things I am most looking forward to is the launch of the second edition of Australian Standards for Editing Practice. The standards set out the core skills and knowledge professional editors should either aspire to or meet. The first edition of the standards was released in 2001, and this revised edition is the culmination of work started in 2005. It will be interesting to see what things have changed.

Of course there are presentations and workshops that will make up the full conference experience, and I can’t wait to share that feedback. So wish me luck and stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

