Get ready, get set, go…!

Welcome to Pencil First – a small professional writing and editing business.

For more than five years I have worked in the publishing industry – first as a journalist/writer and now as an editor.

I am passionate about writing and editing, and strongly believe individuals and businesses can yield great success through carefully crafted words.

I have worked with organisations looking to build their brand through regular communication with the public, which has included a regular column for a local sporting association, community news for the legal industry and direct marketing material for those in the construction industry working with local government, and editing news and entertainment for a regional street press. I also work with students – editing and proofreading their assignments, giving them a greater understanding and appreciation of basic principles of the English language.

Like Ernest Hemingway, my favourite writing instrument is the pencil. When I start on a project I will always begin with a pencil, carefully constructing sentences and making editorial mark ups, until I am absolutely convinced the work is ready; that it conveys the feeling, place and emotion desired. Pencil First aims to provide quality service. Using the ‘pencil first’ approach gives you greater opportunity to convey everything to the reader, and will ensure your message doesn’t get lost in a jungle of words.

Comments are closed.